Kofoid and Winebarger Share Schaeffer’s Oil Wild Wing Shootout Night #2 Victories

Kofoid and Winebarger Share Schaeffer’s Oil Wild Wing Shootout Night #2 Victories

(Petersen Media -San Tan Valley, AZ) – Saturday night at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway, Buddy Kofoid remained the only driver to win a Sprint Car feature during the Schaeffer’s Oil Wild Wing Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts as he picked up another impressive win, as Collen Winebarger simply dominated the field during the 25-lap Modified A. (Terry Page images)

With California pilot Cory Eliason getting the early jump after taking the C&D Bonding green flag, DJ Netto and Gio Scelzi would settle in behind him until the caution flew on the race’s second lap.

Back to green, Eliason continued to lead the way but G. Scelzi and Kofoid would both overtake Netto as the leaders quickly reeled in the back of the field.

The race’s complexion would change in traffic on the ninth lap as Kofoid was able to make a bold move to put himself out front as Scelzi moved into second and Eliason fell back to third just before a lap 10 caution.

While Eliason was able to move into second on the restart, he would take a shot at Kofoid for the top spot, but Kofoid was able to fend him off and quickly pull away.

Kofoid was able to cruise to the win in convincing fashion, as Eliason settled for second, and Carson Macedo was able to make a late race surge to occupy the final spot on the podium.

Scelzi would finish fourth, Rico Abreu fifth, Dominic Scelzi sixth, Aaron Reutzel seventh, while Corey Day finished 8th after starting 17th, Mitchell Faccinto 9th after charging from 21st, and Donny Schatz rounding out the Top-10.

Eliason got the night started off by earning WKD Electric Fast Time honors, and heat race wins went to Kofoid, Netto, and D. Scelzi.

Collen Winebarger charged to the $1,000 victory in Saturday night’s IMCA Modified feature.

Modified action was all about Collen Winebarger. Pulling the two in the re-draw, Winebarger would take the C&D Bonding green flag and never look back.

While he was simply dominant out front, the action behind him was entertaining as the stout field of Modifieds worked around the FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway.

Behind Winebarger, the battle for second was entertaining as Kelsie Foley, Bricen James, and Tanner Black all threw down in a heated battle. With Black emerging from the battle in second, James would slip to third, as night one winner, Casey Arneson moved into the fourth place.

Following a lap 9 restart James would battle with Winebarger for the top spot briefly, however Winebarger was having none of it and motored away from the field.

As the laps clicked off, Winebarger, James, Arneson, and Black would pull away from the field and run in single file formation with Winebarger finishing off the job and picking up the win with James and Arneson joining him on the podium.

With Black settling for fourth, Ethan Dotson and Cody Laney battled for the fifth position in the final laps with Dotson taking the final spot in the Top Five.

Laney would finish sixth with Skyberg, Grey Ferrando, Foley, and Chaz Baca rounding out the Top-10.

With 49 cars checked back into the pit area, Ethan Dotson got the night started off by earning CA IMCA Speedweek Fast Time Honors.

A six-heat program was again ran with wins going to Winebarger, Arneson, Foley, Black, Skyberg, and James. B Main wins went to Baca and Dotson.

The action resumes Sunday for the final day  of the Schaeffer’s Oil Wild Wing Shootout pres. By O’Reilly Auto Parts,. Fans can also purchase general admission tickets tomorrow night at the Speedway.

For anyone unable to attend, the finale of the inaugural miniseries can be viewed live at FloRacing.com.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Wild Wing Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts is additionally made possible by FK Rod Ends, Mesilla Valley Transportation, C&D Bonding, SportTruck RV, DirtDraft.comFloRacing.com, Premium Coach Group, Earnhardt Auto Dealerships, Border Tire, Hoosier Race Tire, Speedway Motors, VP Racing Fuels, Toste Construction, WKD Electric, California IMCA Speedweek, FinishLine Graphics, and Beaver Stripes Custom Graphics.

Sprint Car Feature Event Results (Starting Position)
1. 19 Buddy Kofoid (5), 2. 26 Cory Eliason (1), 3. 21 Carson Macedo (10), 4. 18 Gio Scelzi (3), 5. 57 Rico Abreu (7), 6. 41 Dominic Scelzi (4), 7. 83 Aaron Reutzel (6), 8. 14D Corey Day (17), 9. 37 Mitchell Faccinto (21), 10. 15 Donny Schatz (13), 11. 42x Tim Kaeding, 12. 93 Kalib Henry (18), 13. 14 Tony Stewart (9), 14. 56 Sammy Swindell (23), 15. 5t Ryan Timms (15), 16. 98 Sean Watts (19), 17. 14t Tim Estenson (25), 18. 18t Tanner Holmes (16), 19. 1 Robbie Price (22), 20. 88n DJ Netto (2), 21. 33M Mason Daniels (14), 22. 75 Brian Boswell (24), 23. 21b AJ Bender (20), 24. 18s Jason Solwold (11), 25. 69k Lance Dewease (8)

Modified Feature Event Results (Starting Position)
1. C9 Collen Winebarger (2), 2. 13 Bricen James (3), 3. 2 Casey Arneson (5), 4. 44T Tanner Black (4), 5. 174 Ethan Dotson (8), 6. 5L Cody Laney (14), 7. 6 Casey Skyberg (6), 8. V13 Grey Ferrando (13), 9. 44K Kelsie Foley (1), 10. 75jr Chaz Baca, 11. 18z Jeremy Mills (15), 12. 4TW Tim Ward (21) 13. 223 Jake Pike (10), 14. 5m Zach Madrid (16), 15. 75 Spencer Wilson (7), 16. 15jt Justin McCreadie (23), 17. 07x Troy Morris, Jr (9), 18. 77x Austin Kuehl (11), 19. 83 Kellen Chadwick (17), 20. 31a Alyssa Smith (12), 21. 911 Vinny Raucci Jr (18), 22. 16 Jimmy Mills (24), 23. 40jr Bubba Stafford Jr (22), 24. 66p Paul Stone (20)